Clinical Advisers

Clinical Advisers

Professor Shaheen Hamdy is an Honorary Consultant Gastroenterologist at Salford Royal Hospital NHS Trust and Professor of Neurogastroenterology at the University of Manchester.

Prof. Hamdy is also a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians, London, Board Member of the European Society for Swallowing Disorders, previous Chair of the Neurogastroenterology and Motility Section of the British Society of Gastroenterology and a Member of the American Gastroenterology Association.

Professor Bath is a Stroke Association Professor of Stroke Medicine and Chair/Head of the Division of Clinical Neuroscience at the University of Nottingham. He is also convener for the Neuroscience@Nottingham and Vascular Research multidisciplinary groups, and a NIHR Senior Investigator.

His clinical studies cover the treatment of acute stroke (blood pressure lowering), prevention of stroke recurrence and cognitive impairment (antiplatelet, blood pressure and lipid lowering) and enhancement of recovery using stem cells, as well as different treatment options for post-stroke dysphagia.

Dr. Dziewas is a Professor of Neurology and Head of the Neurological Intensive Care Unit at the University Hospital, Münster, Germany. His research has focussed on both the central organisation of swallowing and modern approaches to the evaluation and management of dysphagia.

His group studied the cortical control of deglutition in health and different neurological diseases.  In the clinical context he systematically studies stroke-related dysphagia in order to develop appropriate management strategies.

Dr. Miller is a Professor in the Department of Orofacial Sciences and holds a joint appointment in the Department of Physiology, School of Medicine, University of California at San Francisco, USA. His research has focused on two areas: swallowing and the craniomandibular region.

He was a trainee of the Brain Research Institute and his thesis involved studies in the brain stem control of laryngeal reflexes and deglutition (swallowing). His research in the craniomandibular region has involved evaluating the neuromuscular system and its interaction with bone.

Dr. Prosiegel is a specialist in rehabilitiation medicine. He is Scientific Director at the Centre for Swallowing Disorders at the Fachklinik Bad Heilbrunn in Germany, and previously spent eight years as the director of the Munich Neurological Hospital.

His clinical focus is on the diagnosis and treatment of dysphagia, especially involving the imaging technique FEES. At a more basic scientific level, he is working on the anatomy of swallowing and developing an evidence-based medicine for neurological dysphagia. Dr. Prosiegel was awarded the Bauer Rehabilitation Prize by the German Neurological Society in 2006.

Dr. John (Jay) Rosenbek, PhD is a Professor in the Deparment of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences, College of Public Health and Health Professions, University of Florida, Gainseville, FLA, USA. He is a researcher in the Brain Rehabilitation Research Center at the Gainesville VA Hospital and the Movement Disorders Center, University of Florida College of Medicine.

He is a Fellow of the American Speech Language and Hearing Association and researches into dysphagia treatment among other fields. He also maintains an outpatient practice for the evaluation and treatment of neurogenic speech, language and swallowing disorders.

Dr. Verin is Associate Professor of Respiration and Physiology Medicine at the University Hospital in Rouen, France.